128054141_291774888830756_32718752745257

NOTRE

FONDATEURS

Founders of Kids with Incarcerated Parents (KIP) Canada, Jessica Reid and Derek Reid

Depuis la création de l'organisation, Derek et Jessica ont consacré leur vie à soutenir les enfants et les familles touchés par le système judiciaire.  Avant de fonder KIP Canada, Jessica Reid a obtenu un diplôme en psychologie de l'Université Trent et a travaillé avec des enfants et des adolescents dans plusieurs domaines de l'éducation et de la santé mentale, tandis que Derek Reid, diplômé de l'Université Western, travaillait dans le secteur financier. Au cours de l'été 2011, Jessica a été témoin de l'impact dévastateur de l'incarcération parentale sur les enfants dans son rôle d'éducatrice de la petite enfance. C'est à travers cette expérience qu'elle a développé une passion pour soutenir ces victimes innocentes et améliorer la vie des personnes touchées par l'emprisonnement parental.

Pendant 24 ans, notre fondatrice Jessica Reid s'est séparée d'elle  père, Derek Reid. À l'âge adulte, Jessica a commencé le voyage pour retrouver son père. En juin 2011, Jessica s'est jointe à Derek pour la première fois. Bien que Derek et Jessica n'aient pas été séparés en raison de leur incarcération, l'impact d'être séparés l'un de l'autre et le manque de ressources disponibles pour les enfants de parents incarcérés ont propulsé leur passion à développer une organisation à but non lucratif. En conséquence, Derek et Jessica ont fondé Fostering, Empowering, Advocating, Together (FEAT) en août 2011.

Kids with Incarcerated Parents (KIP) Canada, formerly known as Fostering, Empowering, Advocating Together for Children (FEAT)

Par la suite, Jessica a obtenu sa maîtrise et est actuellement titulaire d'un doctorat. Candidat en relations familiales et développement humain à l'Université de Guelph. À ce jour, la recherche de Jessica s'est concentrée sur la compréhension de l'impact de l'incarcération parentale sur les résultats développementaux et la résilience chez les enfants et les jeunes dont les parents sont incarcérés. Jessica est également fière d'être membre de la Coalition canadienne pour les enfants de parents incarcérés et membre du conseil d'administration de la Coalition internationale pour les enfants de parents incarcérés.

 

Derek et Jessica se sont engagés à éduquer le public sur les besoins des enfants de parents incarcérés en tant que conférenciers professionnels dans les universités, les conférences et dans la communauté, ainsi qu'à plaider en faveur de changements de politique et d'améliorer l'accès aux services de soutien à travers le pays pour soutenir ces enfants innocents laissés. derrière et aider à briser le cycle de la criminalité.

128054141_291774888830756_32718752745257

OUR

FOUNDERS

pasted image 0 (1) copy.png

Since the inception of the organization, Derek and Jessica have dedicated their lives to supporting children and families affected by the justice system. Prior to founding KIP Canada, Jessica Reid earned a Psychology degree from Trent University and worked with children and adolescents in several educational and mental health capacities while Derek Reid, a graduate of Western University, worked in the financial industry. During the summer of 2011, Jessica witnessed the devastating impact of parental incarceration on children in her role as an early educator. It was through this experience that she developed a passion for supporting these innocent victims and improving the lives of those affected by parental imprisonment.

For 24 years, our founder Jessica Reid was separated from her father, Derek Reid. As an adult, Jessica began the journey of locating her father. In June 2011, Jessica united with Derek for the first time. Although Derek and Jessica were not apart due to incarceration, the impact of being separated from each other coupled with the lack of resources available for children of incarcerated parents propelled their passion to develop a non-profit organization. As a result, Derek and Jessica founded Fostering, Empowering, Advocating, Together (FEAT) in August 2011.

received_536845013936217.jpg

Subsequently, Jessica has earned her Master’s and is currently a Ph.D. Candidate in Family Relations and Human Development at the University of Guelph. To date, Jessica’s research has focused on understanding the impact of parental incarceration on developmental outcomes and resilience in children and youth with incarcerated parents. Jessica is also a proud member of the Canadian Coalition for Children with Incarcerated Parents and a director on the board for the International Coalition for Children of Incarcerated Parents.

 

Derek and Jessica are committed to educating the public on the needs of children of incarcerated parents as professional speakers at universities, conferences and in the community as well as advocating for policy changes and improving access to supportive services across the country to support these innocent children left behind and help break the cycle of crime.